Investigations Division
Captain Woodrow Painter, Division Commander

Crimes Against Persons & Property

Business Office: 816-858-3210
Fax: 816-858-3053

The Platte County Sheriff’s Office Investigations Division is comprised of full-time specialized detectives who provide investigative support to the Sheriff’s Office and other area law enforcement agencies. Areas of expertise include forensics, violent crime, interview and interrogation, narcotics sex crimes, crimes against children, and crimes against persons and/or property.

Any persons wishing to provide information regarding a criminal offense and/or information regarding an ongoing criminal investigation may contact the Investigations Division at the above listed numbers or call the TIPS Hotline at 816-474-TIPS to leave an anonymous tip.

Western Missouri Cyber Crimes Task Force (WMCCTF)

The overall goal of the Western Missouri Cyber Crimes Task Force (WMCCTF) is to safeguard children by focusing on Internet sexual predators that will attempt to sexually abuse, injure, or molest children within the enforcement area.  The WMCCTF is the only local level multi-jurisdictional Cyber Crimes Task Force in northwest Missouri that is tasked with pro-actively investigating child enticement and child pornography on the Internet. The WMCCTF has focused its efforts on the western side of Missouri but coordinates its efforts with all local and federal law enforcement agencies and other Cyber Crimes Task Forces.

The WMCCTF service area consists of 27 of Missouri’s 114 counties, covering a geographic area of more than 15,000 square miles, and including approximately 26% of the state’s population. Since it’s inception in 2006, the WMCCTF has used a combination of grant funding and Task Force member organization funding for its operations.

The WMCCTF is comprised of task force officers from Platte, Buchanan, Clay, Lafayette, Cass and Nodaway County Sheriff’s Offices; as well as from the Liberty Police Department and Gladstone Department of Public Safety.

Our board member agencies include Sheriff’s Offices from: Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Nodaway and Ray Counties, as well as the Liberty Police Department and the Gladstone Department of Public Safety.

Platte County Multi-Jurisdictional Enforcement Group (PCMEG) Drug Task Force

PCMEG is comprised of full-time detectives specializing in the investigation and prosecution of street-level narcotics traffickers in the Platte County Area.   PCMEG  provides investigative assistance in ongoing narcotics investigations to municipalities within Platte County.  The task force also works in correlation with numerous Drug Task Forces throughout the Kansas City metropolitan area.  PCMEG is funded through the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) administered by the Missouri Department of Public Safety.

The Investigations Division is also responsible for the following:

Crisis Negotiation Team